My book: Yellow Flowers on Green Grass

Hoa Vang Tren Co Xanh is Victor Vu’s latest movie, based on the novel Toi Thay Hoa Vang Tren Co Xanh (I See Yellow Flowers on the Green Grass) by best-selling author Nguyen Nhat Anh (this is my favorite author, he writes about the childhood very well!)

It’s  the first time that Vietnammese film have been shown on the International Film Festival held in Fuzhou city, China.

Set in the mid-1980s in rural Viet Nam, the film follows the story of two young brothers who share everything, but compete for the affection of the same girl.The nostalgic drama reveals the realities of life in Viet Nam in that era, before the country’s current economic boom began.

 

The story is very motional and humane.

The story about the girl whom the 2 brothers like is so sad. I cried when Thieu cried, when Thieu thought about Man‘s father… I laughed when Tuong laughed, i laughed because of the little beautiful love, the stupid thoughts of these little chidren.

However, what makes me so emotional is the 2 brothers relationship.

Tuong always sacrifices for Thieu-his elder brother, Tuong always takes care of Thieu. He just simply accepts everything, including being hit for his brother’s faults…

Thieu loves Tuong-his younger brother, but he does not know how to express himself, he is too young to know how. 

Thieu hit Tuong, whom he always loves, because of the girl-Man. However, after that, Tuong says :”It’s ok, and i’m ok, you must tell mom that i’ve fell off the tree, otherwise, she will purnish you…”

Immediately, Thieu regreted for what he’s done. But, what could he do? Thieu just see his brother, as day by day, fighting with the pain.

I feel myself when i read this book, it’s my childhood with the little games, with the bamboos in front of my house, the kites that was flying in the blue sky,… The book “I see yellow flowers on green grass” has taken me home where i find the life peaceful, where i want to be there for a while to recall the memory of the time being a child…

 

 

Leave a comment