The Giant End of 2021

If 2021 is a year, it’d be a lost year.

Indeed it is a year.

So it’s a lost year :))

With all the COVID-19 situations, lagging from weeks to months to years, it wasn’t the most pleasant time in the 21st century. Meanwhile, Tiktok became everyone’s favorite, and YouTube made people smile more than a cup of coffee chat, most of my people suffered, a little bit to a lot of bits.

I bet you lost something too. Jobs, studies, money, entertainments,… We just realize here, we have quite a few things to lose. I’m a poor college student, everyday struggling with food cost and house rent, but to everyone’s surprise, I too, have quite some things to lose. Like family, like my enjoyment, like myself. When you’re alone, it’s difficult to keepguard of the evil forces, coming to disturb you and your beloved ones.

I call them by a dear name, the Soul Reaper.

It rids us of things we hold dear, and then encourages us, “It is fate, my dear. You can overcome it!” and waves us goodbye so that it can come back again.

Is it just me wondering whether when we lose, we gain something else in return?

Like if one door closed, another will open?

With the passing of my father, and later my grandpa, I indeed haven’t found anything, no doors to the new horizons, no windows to the another fascinating world. My siblings are well, grandma is trying her best, and everyone else is fine. That’s a blessing.

2021, somehow, I’m alive, unbelievably healthy.

And that’s another blessing.

Have you heard, people are never satisfied? I am not satisfied with those blessings, not with the void that’s left inside me. I’m not satisfied, however, I know gratitude.

To the good things that have happened to me.

To a kind neighbor of mine.

To a shopkeeper smiling while greeting me.

To friends that stay by my side.

And to my family from whom I learn of care and courage.

If 2021 was a poem, it’d be something like.

As the winter sets in,
Fall has long forgot
What’s lost can’t not be found
What’s past is no more reverted
The man who tries to rewind
And another wishes to move forward
Some wants to sleep the night
However we try, we know
One starting point, thousands of paths
Just that destination’s unchanged.

The poem is so bad that it describes my 2021 so well.

2021 is like, when you take a flight to Rome for a vacation, but lose your luggage right at your hometown airport. Lost but never be found. What can you do? Call the police? Call the airport? Call your brother?

In the end, you’re forced to stay home and spend your time mindlessly scrolling unintelligent Tiktok videos.

But that’s just 2021.

‘Cause our problem is we think we have time (Buddha), we always hope and wish and stupidly hold our faith in “the future”.

Therefore, I wish you a lovely 2022.

Eat well, sleep well, stay healthy, and keep exercising.

Peace!

Leave a comment